Shafie announces dissolution of Sabah state assembly

Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal has announced the dissolution of the state assembly in the midst of the current political turmoil.

SB01_210818_ SHAFIE

KOTA KINABALU, 21 Ogos — Ketua Menteri Sabah Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal pada sidang media sempena 100 hari pertama Kerajaan Negeri Sabah diterajui Parti Warisan di Pusat Pentadbiran Kerajaan Sabah hari ini. –fotoBERNAMA (2018) HAK CIPTA TERPELIHARA

In a press conference at the Sabah Administrative Centre building here on Thursday (July 30), he said this was his prerogative as a Chief Minister to call for such a dissolution.

Shafie said he had met the TYT (Tuan Yang Terutama Yang di-Pertua Negeri) at Istana Negeri this morning, and that Tun Juhar Mahiruddin had agreed to this dissolution.

On Wednesday (July 29), former chief minister Tan Sri Musa Aman told a press conference here that he had secured a simple majority to form a new state government in a coalition involving several parties.

Musa said he would be having an audience with Tun Juhar soon to hand over statutory declarations from the assemblymen who are backing him.

Earlier Thursday, Shafie was seen entering Istana Negeri in a convoy of cars, which was then seen leaving Istana Negeri at about 9am.

The Warisan-led administration under Shafie currently holds 45 seats in the 65-seat assembly.

Musa, the Sungai Sibuga assemblyman, had needed a total of 33 assemblymen to obtain a simple majority in the house.

So far, at least 12 assemblymen from the ruling coalition comprising Warisan, DAP, Upko and PKR have crossed over.

Musa is leading the Opposition front with 20 assemblymen – nine from Bersatu, four Parti Bersatu Sabah, three Sabah STAR, one Umno and three independents.

He would have needed 13 assemblymen to defect and join his side to wrest the state.

Source :